With a Little Help From My Friends

Get Write Down To It has gotten its first blog makeover!  And I owe it all to my friend, Jeff – Buck, to those that know him best.  He’s a very talented graphic design artist and photographer.  Don’t take my word for it, check it out for yourself… go on… I dare ya….http://www.jdmcreative.com/index.htm

I met Buck my sophomore year of college, twenty years ago.  His easy-going nature and comical sense of humor drew me in immediately, and after only a few minutes, I felt like I had known him for years.  My major (at the time) was Marine Biology, and his was graphic design – which meant that while I was trying to memorize two-hundred different species of algae, he was making really cool looking dragons out of wire hangers.  Which, if you ask me, was monumentally unfair.  But I guess I shouldn’t complain because he also did stuff like this….

Much like the classical conditioning of Pavlov’s dogs,
Buck still gets severe hand cramps whenever he sees my face.

That’s not computer generated, folks.  He made that beautifulportrait of me completely by hand (just for perspective – it’s about 27 x 22), and gave it to me as a present for my 20th birthday – to this day, it’s one of the best gifts I ever got.  It now hangs in my living room for all to see… and think I’m a total narcissist.

Fast-forward twenty years…  (Marriages, mortgages, kids, careers, blah, blah, blah…)

When I started this blog, nearly four months ago, I immediately thought of Buck.  I ran to him, and pled my case of artistic ineptitude and techno-tardiness (What?  It’s totally a word).  And like the Superman of the art world that he is, he swooped in and saved a damsel in distress.

Buck said that he would play around with some designs for me, which I really appreciated because I knew he was already busy working long hours running his own business (http://www.jdmcreative.com/index.htm …. another shameless plug.  You’ll probably be getting another one of those in just a minute).  I didn’t give him much to work with – when he asked me what I was looking for, I said I wanted the design to have something to do with writing.  Could I be any more vague?  Probably not.

I only knew I wanted something that represented a writer’s blog better than the pretty blue flowers that were already up there (the “bouquet” theme on wordpress has pink, blue, or orange flowers that come preset).  Flowers don’t really have anything to do with writing, but when I set up my blog I knew I liked the color blue, and I liked flowers – see why I needed his help?

I think he did an amazing job!  The header is a glimpse into what I look like during my editing phase – have I mentioned I’m a compulsive editor?  I chew on my blog a thousand times before I spit it out to the masses.  If there are still typos in it when I’m done, it’s only because my eyes were too glazed over to see them.

Anyway…. back to the artsy stuff…

So, if there is anyone out there who needs help advertising their business (or blog!), Jeff does website design, brochures, videos, pictures and a whole slew of other artsy/ technical stuff that I don’t know anything about.  He’s also an awesome photographer.  He has the ability to make everyone that sits down in front of his lens appear photogenic.  I’m not sure how he does it…. I’m assuming he must have sold his soul in exchange for some sort of magical photography powers.  It’s the only explanation that makes sense.

If you visit his website and tell him Linda sent you, he’ll give you a free baby kangaroo!  I don’t know where he gets them… I try not to ask too many questions.

http://www.jdmcreative.com/index.htm

Click here for your free baby kangaroo

12 thoughts on “With a Little Help From My Friends

        • Well, to actually acquire the baby kangaroo, you have to contact him and mention my name – it’s like a secret password that opens up the kangaroo internet porthole. But if you call him, you have to speak with an Australian accent. Writing to him with an Australian accent would just be silly….

Leave a Reply

