My Magic Shoes

magic shoes

These may look like just another pair of sneakers to you.  The kind of shoes you might wear when you run to the grocery store, pick the kids up from school, or take a trip to the movies.  But they’re not.  They’re my magic shoes.  Unlike Forrest Gump’s magic shoes, mine won’t straighten out my legs or make me dance like Elvis Presley.  They also won’t take me back home with three clicks of my heels like Dorothy’s magic shoes.  But their magic is no less transformative or amazing.  When I decide to lace up these shoes, I have only one goal in mind – to be the best version of myself.

The girl wearing these shoes battles with the lazy girl in the flip-flops everyday.  She doesn’t always win.

She isn’t interested in taking a nap.

She doesn’t waste the entire afternoon watching TV marathons of her favorite show.

If you offer her a doughnut, she’ll probably tell you to go shove it up your ass.

She has no time for self-doubt, insecurities or excuses.

The words “I can’t” aren’t in her vocabulary.  But the words “BRING IT ON” sure are.

She doesn’t give a shit what you think of her looks.  She doesn’t need your approval – in fact, she’ll probably tell you to go shove that up your ass too.

When she has her magic shoes on, you’d better not ask her for anything.  She won’t cook you a meal, blow your nose or listen to you whine about your problems.

When this girl looks in the mirror, she sees nothing but strength staring back at her.

Instead of obsessing over physical imperfections, she says a silent prayer of thanks to her body for letting her do whatever she sets her mind to.

She thinks she’s beautiful.

She knows that the feats she is incapable of accomplishing today, will be what spurs her on tomorrow.

She doesn’t compare herself with other women.  She only wants to be stronger and faster than the woman she was yesterday.

She’s crossed a few finish lines in her life.

She doesn’t glow or perspire – this girl fucking SWEATS.  A lot.

She likes to play her music loud, though she’s usually too out of breath to sing along.

When those shoes are on, she puts herself first – it’s okay, you can call her a selfish bitch.  She doesn’t mind.

Endorphins are her drug of choice…. though she may need an Advil or two at the end of the day.

She aspires to inspire – both herself and those around her.

She knows that some things aren’t possible.  But she’s going to try anyway.

Then after she’s succeeded in pushing herself past her limits, she settles her heart rate back down to a normal rhythm, peels off her sweat-soaked shirt, and unlaces her magic shoes.  For the rest of the day, she has a smile of satisfaction on her face and a swelled sense of pride because she knows that she defeated the lazy girl in the flip-flops today…. and she looks forward to their battle tomorrow.

I hope she wins.

anonymous-woman

26 thoughts on “My Magic Shoes

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I loved this post and as soon as I find a printer I plan to print it out and hang it up somewhere where I have to see it daily. MAJORLY inspirational. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Tracey –

      Your comment made my day – and it’s only 9:30 in the morning! The thought of my post hanging on someone’s wall as a source of inspiration makes me smile.

      I’m normally a humor writer, so this blog post is unlike anything I’ve written before. For me, it wasn’t about getting laughs, it was about finding inspiration. I feel like I’ve been in a coma for the last 5 months. But when I woke up this week I discovered that my strength, determination and inner badass was right where I left her. I hope you find yours 🙂

      Take care,
      Linda

  2. Linda,
    Your blog post speaks to finding your inner strength and resolve. And, yes, every day is a battle. No day passes without out that. Thanks for sharing your struggle and triumph. It’s good for all of us to know that we all have to do that every day. You wrote about it so that we can all remember. Many thanks!

    • Thanks, Les!

      I’m having a really good week – one of the few since Dad passed. I feel like I’m living more consciously and purposefully, like an immense fog has been lifted. For the last 5 months, I lost sight of the girl who made the WW success story video back in February…. but I think I found her again this week 🙂

      XO
      Linda

    • Mary –

      I’m not the ONLY one rocking around here! I hope you had a good workout at the gym this morning. You keep kicking ass in the gym and I’ll see what I can do about telling flip-flop girl to go take a hike.

      XOXO
      Linda

  3. Thanks for reminding me why I love exercise. “Endorphins are my drug of choice” – I’ve actually said that line before to friends! I recently quit my job and moved to a new city, which included quitting my gym. I’ve been cycling a lot, but have been making excuses for not really working out. This post was a great kick in the ass for me, just when I needed it! Thanks!

    • Jennifer –

      I know exactly what you mean – sometimes a slight change in routine (or in your case, a HUGE change) makes it really easy to find excuses out of exercising. There always seems to be something more important than us on our to-do list – job, kids, family, etc. For me, it takes a concerted effort to put myself first – if only for 45 minutes a day. But we ARE worth it!

      I’m glad I gave you the kick in the ass you needed. Good luck in your new city!

      Take care,
      Linda

  4. LOVE This!!! I will definitely look at MY sneakers differently after reading your article! May I share this on my FB page to inspire others?

    • Veronica –

      Thanks so much! I would love it if you shared my blog post on your FB page – I’m tired of shamelessly promoting myself, it’ll be nice for someone else to do it for a change 🙂

      Take care,
      Linda

  5. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Just the kick I needed to get up and going! I’m going to print this out and read it every day! Again thank you! Saying good bye to lazy flip flop girl!!

    • Janette –

      You’re very welcome! Glad you enjoyed it. I was nervous about this entry because it’s not what my normal readers expect out of me (I’m usually a humor writer). Stepped a bit outside the box this time…. actually, I kind of crushed the damn thing. But comments like yours make me think I made the right decision. It’s nice to reach a new audience on a topic that I’m passionate about.

      Here’s to hanging up our flip-flops!!

      Take care,
      Linda

  6. Linda-babe! OMG, what an inspirational, beautiful, and damn-funny post, honey. Thank you so much for letting me know about this piece and for visiting BigBodyBeautiful again and sharing your thoughts over there. I started tearing up from this awesome piece of yumminess and feel such happiness inside for you, your process, you spunk, and these lovely, lovely messages to your body. How you help other people, girl! I adore this and I adore YOU, you bad-ass body-lover. You’re my peeps. I am so blessed. XOXO

    • Lizzy –

      I’m so glad you liked it! The first post I read of yours was a pebble that caused this wonderful ripple effect in my life. Since then it’s been a daily journey to love and accept myself more and to try and do what’s right for my body. I’m hoping that that change in my own life continues the positive ripple effect (you began) in other people’s lives – namely, my 14-year old daughter.

      Thanks again for being as AWESOME as you are – you are changing lives everyday just by being you. Keep on rippling, girlfriend 🙂

      XO
      Linda

      • Awwww…honey-pie, it takes one to know one. You and I are simply mirrors for each other. I LOVE that you got yourself ready to receive the ripples and that you are happily passing along these concepts and practices to your gorgeous teenage daughter. That seriously just makes me so happy inside. We CAN CHANGE THE WORLD, sweetie. Just by offering the example, we do reach others and help them. We grow and we help raise humanity. You totally get this and so do I. I just LOVE US!! All my love and light to you, friend. Keep that joy and happiness a-comin’! You’re doing such good work here. XOXO

  7. Way to go! I thought I needed my husband to be a runner with me but turns out I can do it all by myself. It is all about finding your inner badass and making her work for you.

  8. ok so I was eating Reese’s peanut butter cups while I read this. And I enjoyed it and had I not had a mouthful of chocolate and peanut butter (the best pairing since left Simon and Garfunkel) I might have laced up my own Sauconys. But, I didn’t. And I haven’t in quite some time. I wish this inspired me to get up off my ass but the fact that it didn’t is my fault and mine alone. So for you – just keep moving.

Leave a Reply

